clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2010 Dynamo Team Awards

Official Press Release

HOUSTON, TX (Monday, October 25, 2010) -- The Houston Dynamo announced many of their 2010 team awards Saturday afternoon following their final home game of the season at Robertson Stadium.

Team award winners were honored with videos celebrating their achievements and seasons on the videboard following the match. Awards were determined by media voting, with online fan voting contributing to the Goal of the Year and Save of the Year awards.

Team captain Brian Ching won the Budweiser Golden Boot, awarded to the player with the most goals in league play, for the third consecutive year, while midfielder Brad Davis won his second straight team MVP award. Ching was also named the team's United States Soccer Foundation Humanitarian of the Year and won the team's Goal of the Year award for his bicycle kick against Chicago on August 21.

Defender Bobby Boswell won two awards, taking the Defender of the Year title for the second time in three years and being honored with the Save of the Year for his two stops inside the six-yard box against Kansas City on September 22.

2010 Dynamo Awards Winners:

Newcomer of the Year: Lovel Palmer
Goal of the Year: Brian Ching, August 21 vs. Chicago Fire
Dynamo Academy Player of the Year: Leo Ayala (Houston Sharpstown High School)
Game of the Year: August 21, Dynamo 4, Chicago Fire 3
Defender of the Year: Bobby Boswell
Save of the Year: Bobby Boswell, September 22 vs. Kansas City Wizards
USSF Humanitarian of the Year: Brian Ching
Ironman of the Year: Andrew Hainault (most MLS minutes played)
Young Player of the Year: Danny Cruz (U-23)
Budweiser Golden Boot: Brian Ching (most MLS goals)
Most Valuable Player: Brad Davis