clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2011 MLS Awards: How I Voted

Getty Images

Now that the finalist for the 2011 MLS Awards are out, it's time I share how I voted with everyone. I'm a firm believer in the need for transparency in award voting if for no other reason that if you submit a crazy ballot, you should be accountable for your choices.

We were allowed by MLS to select two choices for each category from a pre-selected list. The names in parenthesis next to the award are the finalist (winner in bold), my votes are below. Winner will be annouced over the next week and a half, culminating in the MVP award announcement on November 18th. You can see the complete list here.

Feel free to comment on my choices, I'd like to know what you think.


MVP (Brad Davis, Dwayne De Rosario, Brek Shea)
1. Brad Davis
2. Mauro Rosales


Defender of the Year (Nat Borchers, Omar Gonzalez, Jámison Olave)
1. Omar Gonzalez
2. Nat Borchers


Comeback Player of the Year (David Beckham, Charlie Davies, Dominic Oduro)
1. Javier Morales
2. Dominic Oduro


Goalkeeper of the Year (Kevin Hartman, Kasey Keller, Faryd Mondragón)
1. Tally Hall
2. Nick Rimando


Newcomer of the Year (Eric Hassli, Luke Rodgers, Mauro Rosales)
1. Mauro Rosales
2. Luke Rodgers


Rookie of the Year (Michael Farfan, Perry Kitchen, C.J. Sapong)
1. CJ Sapong
2. Michael Farfan


Coach of the Year (Bruce Arena, Sigi Schmid, Peter Vermes) 
1. Sigi Schmid
2. Peter Vermes


Best XI (I selected a 3-5-2)
GK: Tally Hall
D: Carlos Valdes
D: Omar Gonzales
D: Nat Borchers
M: Brad Davis
M: Mauro Rosales
M: Dwayne De Rosario
M: David Beckham
M: Kyle Beckerman
F: Chris Wondolowski
F: Fredy Montero

(Players in bold were named to the official 2011 Best XI)