clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The 2012 Creamsicles: Dynamo Theory annual awards ballot is open!

Dynamo Theory readers - here's your chance to vote for the best players, goals, and moment of the 2012 Houston Dynamo season.

First, you don't think the Mayans would end the world prior to voting for your favorite Dynamo players and moments, do you? Not a chance!

Last year, Dynamo Theory launched our first ever annual awards - dubbed The Creamsicles. You better believe we wouldn't change a thing after such a great 2012 season for the Houston Dynamo.

But now, you - the Dynamo fanatics - get your chance to say who the best of the best is for 2012. In November, members of the press voted for the annual Dynamo awards, but nothing says truth more than the fan's opinion.

In 2012, we have 10 categories to crown a winner in.

Dynamo Theory readers, here's your chance to vote for your favorite player, goals, and moments for 2012. From the opening of a new home, to clinching playoffs and quarterfinal berths, to being crowned the East's best, and heading to the MLS Cup - it's all here. Let you voice be heard.


Without further ado, here are the 2012 nominees for Dynamo Theory's highest honor - The Creamsicles!

Team Most Valuable Player

Nominees: Will Bruin, Boniek Garica, Brad Davis, Bobby Boswell, Tally Hall

Forward of the Year

Nominees: Calen Carr, Brian Ching, Will Bruin, Macoumba Kandji, Cam Weaver

Midfielder of the Year

Nominees: Boniek Garcia, Brad Davis, Je-Vaughn Watson, Ricardo Clark, Adam Moffat

Defender of the Year

Nominees: Kofi Sarkodie, Bobby Boswell, Jermaine Taylor, Corey Ashe, Andre Hainault

Newcomer of the Year

Nominees: Giles Barnes, Nathan Sturgis, Ricardo Clark, Boniek Garcia

Rookie of the Year

Nominees: Warren Creavalle, Brian Ownby, Colin Rolfe

Better Playoff Theme

Nominees: Noodle Time, Dream. Scream. Believe

Goal of the Year

May 12 - Brad Davis' inaguaral goal at BBVA Compass Stadium (vs D.C. United)
October 20 - Boniek Garcia's long range strike, clinching a spot in the playoffs (vs Philadelphia Union)
October 23 - Andre Hainault's game tying header, clinching a spot in the CCL quarterfinals (vs Olimpia)
November 4 - Adam Moffat's rocket in the Eastern Conference Final (vs SKC)
December 1 - Calen Carr's go ahead goal in the MLS Cup (vs LA Galaxy)

Goal Celebration of the Year

Bobby Boswell is... well, Bobby (Boswell's header vs Montreal on July 21)
Fist pumping Hulk impression (Andre Hainault's header vs Olimpia on October 23)
Smile! (All of Boniek Garcia's goals... literally all of them)
I got hops! (Calen Carr's countless leaps over the corner flag)
That's a wrap! (Colin Clark heads to the locker room after RSL stoppage time penalty kick on September 6)

Moment of the Year

February 16 - Brian Ching is reacquired by the Dynamo from the Montreal Impact
May 12 - Opening ceremonies of BBVA Compass Stadium
October 20 - Win over Philadelphia Union, clinching an MLS Playoff spot
October 23 - Draw with Olimpia, clinching a spot in the CCL quarterfinals
November 18 - Aggregate victory over D.C. United, crowning the Dynamo "Eastern Conference Champs"


Voting will remain open from December 21-31.

The winners will be announced shortly after the new year.

In this post, we've closed comments - but we'll open the winners post for debate. I'd rather readers focused on the nominees and voting before we get into the discussion about who wins (or should have won) what.