clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Houston Dash release list of players protected in the Expansion Draft

With another team entering the NWSL, the League will be holding an Expansion Draft.

Trask Smith

The Orlando Pride are set to join the NWSL in 2016 and already have three players to their name. Alex Morgan, Sarah Hagen and former Houston Dash player Kaylyn Kyle were announced by the team on Monday the first players to join the team. To fill out the roster the league will be holding an Expansion Draft on November 2. In preparation for the draft teams released their list of protected players on Monday. Non-playoff clubs (aka the Dash) are able to protect 10 players. Teams can protect two USWNT players, an issue the Dash resolved when they traded Meghan Klingenberg on Monday to the Seattle Reign. Allysha Chapman is the only Canadian national team player protected by the club leaving Lauren Sesselmann and Erin McLeod unprotected.

Houston Dash protected and unprotected players

Morgan Brian (U.S. allocated)
Amber Brooks
Ellie Brush
Allysha Chapman (Canada allocated)
Bianca Henninger
Carli Lloyd (U.S. allocated)
Jessica McDonald
Stephanie Ochs
Kealia Ohai


Rachael Axon
Poliana Barbosa
Rosana dos Santos Augusto
Jen LaPonte
Tiffany McCarty
Erin McLeod (Canada allocated)
Toni Pressley
Lauren Sesselmann (Canada allocated)