clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Columbus vs Portland Final is now a reality

After a winning Sunday the MLS Cup Final is now set to take place in Columbus, OH.

Trevor Ruszkowski-USA TODAY Sports

The MLS Cup final has its two teams and its location after Sunday's games crowned winners of the Eastern and Western Conferences. The second leg was a much tougher test for Columbus and Portland who came close to allowing the New York Red Bulls and FC Dallas back in it.

The Portland Timbers played to a 2-2 final against FC Dallas, but won the war on a 5-3 aggregate. It looked like Dallas might take the overall lead when Lucas Melano scored a last minute goal to give the Timbers the overall lead. The Columbus Crew lost to the New York Red Bulls 1-0 on Sunday, but thanks to their 2-0 win in the first leg of the series they were crowned the Eastern Conference champions.

The Final is set to take place next Sunday at MAPFRE Stadium in Columbus at 3 PM CT.

The most important thing to come out of Sunday is that FC Dallas isn't going to the Final.

FIFA Women's World Player of the Year

The Houston Dash's Carli Lloyd is up for the FIFA Women's World Player of the Year award. Lloyd had an amazing run at the Women's World Cup in Canada over the summer that catapulted her to superstar status. She is up against Aya Miyana and Celia Sasic who were also named finalists for this year's award.

However, her goal from midfield is not a finalist for the Puskas award. That award is voted on by fans so we all fail. At least we can watch the goal over and over and over.