clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

DaMarcus Beasley named to 35-man CONCACAF Cup roster

Jurgen Klinsmann names the provisional roster ahead of October 10th's USA-Mexico playoff.

Bill Streicher-USA TODAY Sports

Per CONCACAF regulations, the United States and Mexico have each named their provisional rosters ahead of October 10th's CONCACAF Cup playoff between the North American rivals. Despite a nagging calf injury, Houston Dynamo's DaMarcus Beasley has been named to the 35-man roster, which will eventually be culled down to 23 players on October 1st.

This marks Beasley's second call-up in 2015, following his premature International retirement last December. In the only US match that he's played this year, Beasley was subbed on after 90 minutes against Panama in the third place match of the Gold Cup. Beasley would eventually miss the final penalty, resigning the United States to a 4th place finish in the tournament.

After playing the Dynamo's first 19 matches this season, Beasley has seen an aggravation of a calf injury sustained during Gold Cup training camp. Since July, he has only appeared in four matches for Houston, missing three more as he works on rehabilitation. He did not appear in Saturday night's home loss to Real Salt Lake.

There hasn't been word on if or when the provisional rosters will meet for a camp, but Beasley's likely inclusion in the finalized roster should mean that he'll miss the Charities Cup match against Santos Laguna, and could miss matches prior to that date (Houston plays in Dallas on October 4th).

The winning team that emerges from the Rose Bowl on October 10th will earn a spot at the 2017 Confederations Cup in Russia. That tournament, which takes place a year before the World Cup, provides teams an opportunity to familiarize with the host nation's cities and climates before the premier tournament a year later.

The CONCACAF Cup playoff takes place at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, CA on Saturday, October 10th at 8:00PM (CDT).

Full provisional rosters for each team can be found below.


GK: Guillermo Ochoa (Malaga);Moises Munoz (Club America/Mexico); Alfredo Talavera (Toluca/Mexico); Jonathan Orozco (Monterrey/Mexico)

DF: Paul Aguilar (Club America/Mexico); Diego Reyes (Real Sociedad/Spain); Rafael Marquez (Hellas Verona/Italy); Hector Moreno (PSV Eindhoven/Netherlands); Miguel Layun (Porto/Portugal); Hector Herrera (Porto, Portugal); Oswaldo Alanis (Guadalajara/Mexico); Arturo Rivas (Tigres/Mexico); Miguel Herrera (Pachuca/Mexico); Jorge Torres Nilo (Tigres/Mexico)

MF: Israel Jimenez (Tigres/Mexico); Andres Guardado (PSV Eindhoven; Netherlands); Jose Juan Vazquez (Leon/Mexico); Jesus Duenas (Tigres/Mexico); Javier Aquino (Tigres/Mexico); Jonathan Dos Santos (Villarreal/ Spain); Luis Montes (Leon/Mexico); Carlos Pena (Leon/Mexico); Javier Guemez (Club America/Mexico)

FW: Oribe Peralta (Club America/Mexico); Raul Jimenez (Benfica/Portugal); Carlos Vela (Real Sociedad/Spain); Carlos Esquivel (Toluca/Mexico); Jesus Corona (Porto/Portugal); Javier Hernandez (Bayer Leverkusen/Germany); Elias Hernandez (Leon/Mexico); Jurgen Damm (Tigres/Mexico); Giovani Dos Santos (LA Galaxy/United States)


GK: Brad Guzan (Aston Villa); Bill Hamid (D.C. United/USA); Tim Howard (Everton/England); Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake/USA)

DF: Ventura Alvarado (Club America/Mexico); DaMarcus Beasley (Houston Dynamo/USA); Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City/USA); John Brooks (Hertha Berlin/Germany); Geoff Cameron (Stoke City/England); Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders FC/USA); Greg Garza (Atlas/Mexico); Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy/USA); Michael Orozco (Club Tijuana/Mexico); Tim Ream (Fulham/England); Jonathan Spector (Birmingham City/England); DeAndre Yedlin (Sunderland/England)

MF: Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake/USA); Alejandro Bedoya (Nantes/France); Michael Bradley (Toronto FC/Canada); Joe Corona (Veracruz/Mexico); Mix Diskerud (New York City FC/USA); Fabian Johnson (Borussia Mönchengladbach/Germany); Jermaine Jones (New England Revolution/USA); Alfredo Morales (FC Ingolstadt/Germany); Lee Nguyen (New England Revolution/USA); Danny Williams (Reading/England); Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy/USA); Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City/USA)

FW: Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC/Canada); Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC/USA); Alan Gordon (LA Galaxy/USA); Aron Johansson (Werder Bremen/Germany); Jordan Morris (Stanford University/USA); Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes/USA); Bobby Wood (Union Berlin/Germany)