clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Houston Dynamo announce players protected for Expansion Draft

Dynamo protect 11 players for upcoming MLS Expansion Draft.

MLS: Houston Dynamo at Colorado Rapids Isaiah J. Downing-USA TODAY Sports

The Houston Dynamo have announced 11 protected players ahead of the upcoming MLS Expansion Draft. Atlanta United and Minnesota United are entering the league in 2017 and to prepare the league is holding an expansion draft. The two teams will be able to pick five players each from a list of unprotected players. Teams already in the league were able to protect eleven players on their current roster. Those players will not be available for selection in the draft and teams can lose no more than one player in the draft. Homegrown players are automatically protected and do not count against the eleven player protection list.

The Dynamo chose to protect all of their forwards and midfielders currently under contract.

The draft is set to take place on Dec 13. at 1 pm CT.

Protected Players

Eric Alexander

Jalil Anibaba

Will Bruin

Ricardo Clark

Joe Escalante

Boniek Garcia

Alex Lima

Mauro Manotas

Erik Torres

Andrew Wenger

Joe Willis

Homegrown (Protected)

Tyler Deric

Christian Lucatero

Unprotected -under contract

Calle Brown


Kevin Garcia

Sheanon Williams

Unprotected - out of contract

DaMarcus Beasley

David Horst

Collen Warner

Raul Rodriguez

On Loan

Keyner Brown

Yair Arboleda