clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2018 SBN Mock SuperDraft: The Houston Dynamo select Ben Lundgaard from Virginia Tech

Dynamo Theory takes a goalkeeper and a defender in the SBN Mock SuperDraft.

2013 MLS SuperDraft Presented By Adidas Photo by Joe Robbins/Getty Images

It’s a tradition unlike any other, the SBN Mock SuperDraft. Writers from each MLS blog gather in a virtual room and take turns selecting the college players they think their teams will pick in the SuperDraft. Or the player whose name they pull out of a hat. Or that a dart lands on.

This year’s SBN Mock SuperDraft took place last weekend ahead of the real draft which is set to take place on January 19. The mock draft only consists of two rounds and trades were been banned by our overlords.

The Houston Dynamo currently have the twentieth selection (first round) and forty third selection (second round) which meant Dynamo Theory got to pick in those slots. The Dynamo already have a pretty full roster but have a pretty big hole at the goalkeeper slot. The team is also short on international roster slots which further narrowed the field. Below is who we selected and why.

20. Houston Dynamo – Ben Lundgaard (VA Tech)

With the 20th overall pick Dynamo Theory decided to go with a goalkeeper. Currently, the Dynamo have a grand total of one goalkeeper signed to the roster. A rookie keeper would likely find himself spending time with RGVFC, but a draftee would be a good fit for the number three goalkeeper slot on the team. Top Drawer Soccer currently has Lundgaard listed at number 34 on their big board and he is their highest rated keeper available.

43. Houston Dynamo – Ben White (Gonzaga)

Round two of the mock draft starts to get even tougher as most of the known players have been selected. Ben White was one of the highest rated defender still available for selection. The Dynamo have a number of forwards and midfielders on their roster and have fewer defenders on the roster.

Full List

Round One

1. LAFC – Tomas Hilliard-Arce (Stanford)

2. LA Galaxy – Mason Toye (Indiana)

3. D.C. United – Chris Mueller (Wisconsin)

4. Montreal Impact – Francis Atuahene (Michigan)

5. Minnesota United – Jon Bakero (Wake Forest)

6. Orlando City – Wyatt Omsberg (Dartmouth)

7. Montreal Impact – Tristan Blackmon (Pacific)

8. New England Revolution – Joao Moutinho (Akron)

9. New England Revolution – Ema Twumasi (Wake Forest)

10. Real Salt Lake – Mo Thiaw (Louisville)

11. FC Dallas – Eddie Opoku (Virginia)

12. San Jose Earthquakes – Drew Skundrich (Stanford)

13. Sporting KC – Rafael Andrade Santos (VCU)

14. Atlanta United – Tim Kubel (Louisville)

15. Chicago Fire – Ken Krolicki (Michigan State)

16. New York Red Bulls – Brian White (Duke)

17. Vancouver Whitecaps – Mo Adams (Syracuse)

18. Sporting KC - Chris Lema (Georgetown)

19. NYCFC – Alan Winn (UNC)

20. Houston Dynamo – Ben Lundgaard (VA Tech)

21. Columbus Crew SC – Jon Gallagher (Notre Dame)

22. Seattle Sounders – Alex Roldan (Seattle)

23. Toronto FC – Oliver Shannon (Clemson)

Round 2

24. LAFC – Justin Fiddes (Washington)

25. Colorado Rapids – Daniel Musovski (UNLV)

26. Vancouver Whitecaps – Gordon Wild (Maryland)

27. Colorado Rapids – Manuel Cordeiro (Akron)

28. Minnesota United – Brandon Bye (Western Michigan)

29. FC Dallas – Mauro Cichero (SMU)

30. San Jose Earthquakes – Ricky Lopez-Espin (Creighton)

31. New York Red Bulls – Markus Fjortoft (Duke)

32. Columbus Crew SC – Frantzdy Pierrot (Coastal Carolina)

33. Real Salt Lake – Jefferson Caldwell (Virginia)

34. FC Dallas – Cory Brown (Xavier)

35. San Jose Earthquakes – Jose Carrera-Garcia (Cal)

36. Atlanta United – Diego Campos (Clemson)

37. Atlanta United – Carter Manley (Duke)

38. Chicago Fire – Marcelo Acuna (VA Tech)

39. New York Red Bulls – Afonso Pinheiro (Albany)

40. LA Galaxy – Eric Dick (Butler)

41. Minnesota United – Mark Segbers (Wisconsin)

42. NYCFC – Arthur Bosua (Columbia)

43. Houston Dynamo – Ben White (Gonzaga)

44. Columbus Crew SC – Stu Holthusen (Akron)

45. Seattle Sounders – Paul Christensen (Portland)

46. Toronto FC – Albert Ruiz (FGCU)