clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Houston Dynamo announce 2020 MLS expansion draft protected list

See who the Dynamo have chosen to protect ahead of the 2020 MLS expansion draft

2013 MLS SuperDraft Presented By Adidas Photo by Joe Robbins/Getty Images

Houston Dynamo FC have come out with their 2020 MLS Expansion Draft protected list before the new Texas club, Austin FC, begin selecting players to add to their roster Tuesday December 15th. There are ten clubs that will be exempt from the draft as they had players selected in last year’s draft. The Dynamo did not have any players taken in that expansion draft, although they were involved as Houston traded for Nashville SC’s pick Zarek Valentin in exchange for Joe Willis.

Protected Players:

FW Mateo Bajamich

MF Darwin Cerén

FW Niko Hansen

DF Sam Junqua

FW Ari Lassiter

DF Adam Lundkvist

GK Marko Marić

GK Michael Nelson

FW Darwin Quintero

FW Christian Ramirez

DF Zarek Valentin

MF Matías Vera

Dynamo Academy alumni Erik McCue, Marcelo Palomino and Memo Rodríguez are not eligible for selection as they are homegrown products under the age of 25.

Available Players:

DF Kyle Adams

DF José Bizama

DF Víctor Cabrera

GK Cody Cropper

DF Maynor Figueroa

DF Alejandro Fuenmayor

MF Oscar Boniek García

MF Nico Lemoine

FW Mauro Manotas

MF Tomás Martínez

FW Ronaldo Peña

FW Michael Salazar

DF Kiki Struna

MF Wilfried Zahibo

If any Dynamo player is selected the club will be compensated with $50,000 in General Allocation Money and the team will be exempt from having any other players taken in the draft.